Books · Friday Face-Off · Tags

Friday Face-Off: Ghost or Specter

This is a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy, but kept up by Lynn’s Book Blog.

“There’s more of gravy than of grave about you.”

This weeks theme: A cover featuring a ghost or specter.

My Choice: The Boggart

Covers:

Aladdin Paperbacks 2005 | Aladdin Paperbacks 1995 | Scholastic Inc 1993

Margaret K. McElderry Books 2004 | Kindle | Puffin Books 1994

Margaret K. McElderry Books 2018 | Puffin 2018 | Ravensburger Buchverlag 1996

I don’t do scary books so I haven’t read very many books with ghosts on the cover.  In this book the Boggart is described as “an invisible, mischievous spirit” so I think it counts as a ghost/specter?

Least Favorites:

The Kindle Version is just boring and the other one is completely random with the fish and seal.

Favorites:

The first cover is the one I read waaay back when! (probably in middle school but possibly in elementary school?) The second is the prettiest cover and I like the colors.  The third cover captures that it is still a children’ts book but shill looks kind of haunting.

Winner:

Boggart09

Which is your favorite? Do you agree with my choice? Let me know in the comments!!

13 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off: Ghost or Specter

      1. Ohhh, yeah no I would probably not have picked that book up as a kid. I think you picked the right one. Approachable spooky lol perfect for kids.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I really like the font of the title on the seal/fish one! and If you look really closely on the one I chose there is a seal on it too 😀 So I’m sure he is important to the story it has just been too long that I don’t remember a seal being in the book! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment