Friday Face-Off

Friday Face-Off: Footsteps

This is a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy, but kept up by Lynn’s Book Blog.

“Trip trap, trip trap, trip trap.

This weeks theme: A cover featuring footsteps

My Choice: Maniac Magee

Covers:

Scholastic 2002 | Little, Brown Books Nov 1990 | Little, Brown Books Apr 1990 | Little, Brown Books 2014
Editura Arthur 2014| McDougal Littel 1996 | Mondadori 1994 | HarperCollins 1992
Turtleback Books 1992 | Collins Educational 1993 | HarperCollins 1996 | Dressler 2000
Unknown | Mondadori 2012 | Editora 34 2009 | Dareun/ Tsai Fong 2007

I struggled a bit this week understanding the theme.  What is considered a footstep on a cover?  To me, a footstep is an action or a sound, which doesn’t translate well to a static cover.  Is the theme supposed to be footprints? Someone walking or running, paused mid step? Just featuring feet in general?  My guess is that it means footprints but I can’t find a cover that fit, so I chose one featuring someone running and therefore they are taking steps with their feet.

Least Favorites:

Favorites:

The middle cover is the one I read (probably in middle school).  I didn’t notice at first but in the third cover his toes are sticking out of the shoe!

Winner:

Maniac01

I don’t really have a reason for liking this one best, I just do!

Which one is your favorite? Do you agree with my pick? Let me know in the comments!

24 thoughts on “Friday Face-Off: Footsteps

  1. This is an excellent book for the theme this week, that I think had everyone struggling a bit. I like your choice, but lost my heart to the third book in your favourites – the one with the toes peeking out of the broken trainers… Thank you for this – a wonderful selection of covers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 😀 I actually didn’t like the toes sticking out of the sneaker because shoes don’t break that way. They could have made how his toes were sticking out more realistic. Otherwise that would have been my favorite!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a bit of confusion interpreting the theme too, but then I saw that footprints and footsteps are sometimes interchangeable so I went with what was easier (prints, lol!) I liked what you chose though, you really rose to the challenge! I like your choice as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The one you picked, I liked too 🙂 I remember hearing about Jerry Spinelli when I was in school but can’t remember what book it was. This one has quite a few covers! Where do you find them all? The book I picked only showed 3 different covers, no matter what I searched lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. On goodreads if you go to the book’s page and hover over the cover picture it gives you the option to see other editions. I use that to find all the different covers. The book you chose only has 3 covers on goodreads so I think you got them all 😀 Usually classics and books you would find on a school syllabus have more cover variations!

      Like

  4. I don’t know why on earth I came up with this theme – it was so blinking difficult I couldn’t help wondering why I don’t make it easier! I like your interpretation of the theme – I think most of the themes are open to interpretation to help finding books.
    I actually really like your choice – I’m also not sure why, perhaps the sense of purpose to the character.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t mind difficult themes! It makes the hunt more fun 🙂 I just don’t like ambiguous themes because I don’t want to accidentally misunderstand them haha But if they are purposefully ambiguous that makes me feel better for not understanding 🙂 Thanks for hosting this and coming up with the themes! It is my favorite meme and I am sure it is not easy to come up with so many new themes!

      Like

  5. Wow, this is a cool meme. I haven’t seen it before but plan to check it out! Im not sure if i know any books with steps on the cover…but it would be fun to scour goodreads! i like your choice and all the foreign covers you’ve found!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should do it!! This week’s theme is “a cover featuring creeping vines” you can see the list of upcoming themes at the bottom of Lynn’s posts (since she hosts it!) Once you decide on a book goodreads makes it super easy to find all the other editions 🙂

      Like

  6. This is such an awesome meme! Unfortunately, I’m not familiar with these books, but I do really like the cover you picked. There’s something really fun and adventurous about it. 🙂 The Editura Arthur cover is my favorite though, since I do love minimalist cover art. ♥

    – Aimee @ Aimee, Always

    Like

Leave a comment