Friday Face-Off · Tags

Friday Face Off: King

This is a weekly meme created by Books by Proxy, but currently run by Lynn’s Book Blog.

“A horse, a horse, my kingdom for a horse.”

This weeks theme:  A cover featuring a king

My Choice: The Return of the King

There are over 450 different editions of The Return of the King so I picked the 20 most rated editions on Goodreads, plus a couple other random covers that caught my eye!

Covers:

Del Rey 2003 | HarperCollins 1999 | Houghton Mifflin 1994 | Houghton Mifflin 2012

Mariner Books 2005 | Mariner 2003 | Houghton Mifflin 1988 | Minotauro 2006

Metis Yayınları 1996 | Ballantine Books 1973 | HarperCollins 2012 | Martins Fontes 2001

J.G. Cotta’sche 2001 | HarperCollins 2001 | HarperCollins 1997 | Ballantine Books 1984

Houghton Mifflin 2001 | Unwin Paperbacks 1981 | HarperCollins 2008 | Ballantine 1986

Uitgerverij 2002 | Klett Cotta 2012 | Christian Bourgois 1991 | Nhã Nam 2014

Pocket 1991 | Norstedts 2012 | Uitgeverij M 2003 | Gondolat 1981

Amber 2009 | Pocket 2006 | Quality Paperback 1995 | Κέδρος 1995

HarperCollins 2013 | HarperCollins 2003 | Gramedia Pustaka 2016 | BBC 1981

Least Favorites:


I really just don’t like the lime green circle!

Favorites:


This is super hard! There are a lot of covers that I like!

Winner:
King26

Which is your favorite? Do you agree with my choice? Let me know in the comments!!

28 thoughts on “Friday Face Off: King

  1. Ooh what a great line up of covers! I like the second and third ones, also the Houghton Mifflin 1988 cover and the Metis Yayinlari ’96 one as well. The Ballantine one is the cover I had when I first read them so that one is partial to me, even if it’s not very distinctive.

    The Norstedt and Harper Collins 2008 are nice as well. Even the Ballantine ’84- not exactly how I picture Aragorn lol, but I still like it in that vaguely throwback 80’s fantasy cover way haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha so basically you like a lot of the covers!! You are the second person who has said they owned the Ballantine edition. I think I own one of the movie tie in covers. Obviously the cover I own didn’t make that great of an impression because I can’t even remember which one I have!

      I really liked the Houghton Mifflin 1988 too, but it is kind of subtle and not very eye catching compared to the others. If I wanted a nice collector’s edition I would probably get that one, but for reading and enjoying the cover I like some of the others better!

      Like

  2. We’re book twins! I chose this but went for the blue collector’s edition. TBH – I was a tad lazy and only checked out the first couple of pages so I didn’t even see your favourite – which is gorgeous.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked the blue collector’s edition one too! It was fourth on my list haha so it barely didn’t make my favorites. I tried to do only the first few pages, but I was so anxious about missing a really good one that I ended up looking through most of them 😂

      Like

Leave a comment